26 06 2009

Not only does the field of the 2009 John Deere Classic feature three of the top four finishers at last Sunday’s U.S. Open – including winner Lucas Glover – it also features 12 other major champions.

The latest, of course, is Davis Love III, winner of the 1997 PGA Championship at Winged Foot CC in New York. Others include Zach Johnson (Masters), Todd Hamilton (British Open), Mark Calcavecchia (British Open), David Toms (PGA Championship), 2009 U.S. Open co-runner up David Duval (British Open), Steve Elkington (PGA Championship), Shaun Micheel (PGA Championship), Bob Tway (PGA Championship), Rich Beem (PGA Championship), Lee Janzen (U.S. Open – twice), and Mark Brooks (PGA Championship).

The field also includes 24 tournament winners in the last two years. It’s a group that includes Jonathan Byrd, Chad Campbell, Charley Hoffman, Jerry Kelly, Pat Perez, Carl Petterson, Chez Reavie, D.J. Trahan, and Mark Wilson.




%d bloggers like this: