Why I Love the John Deere Classic with Claire Benisch – First Tee of the Quad Cities Junior Course Reporter

7 07 2011

There is only one winner, what’s holding them back? One hundred and fifty-five of the top players in the world. Each player has a .65% chance of winning. What do they get? Of the $4,500,000 purse, they get $792,000. That is 17.6% of the purse. They also get 500 FedEx Cup points. Who’s in it? The most well-known names would be Steve Stricker, Zach Johnson, Kenny Perry, and Davis Love III. There are some up and coming golfers such as Jason Day. There are local golfers such as Brady Schnell, Zach Johnson, and Todd Hamilton. There is one threat to everyone out there, Steve Stricker, defending two time champion of the JDC. There is one sentence that I heard from a spectator today that caught my attention and summed up the whole idea; “You can’t win the Classic in one day, but you can lose it”.
Other interviews that I have participated in or have seen, suggest that the Classic is a favorite for some players partially because of the menu. That would be the pork chop sandwiches and our local Whitey’s Ice Cream. Golfers have also said that the range is one of the nicest they have seen. Zach Johnson said that John Deere does a really great job keeping everything smooth, and said they treat all the golfers very well.
John Deere is always prepared for the weather. They have various medical tents set up around the course as it can get very hot here. They also have vehicles that can transport the golfers in case of an emergency or rain. They provide all the golf balls that the players need on the range. The range has a private area on the back for the golfers when needed. They have about 1,400 volunteers helping make this tournament possible. They work for the medical tents, grounds keeping, caddies (when needed), and have many other duties. Many of the volunteers have been doing their jobs for many years.
These past two days have been a great experience that I will never forget. I cannot thank my coaches at Red Hawk Golf Course enough for giving me the opportunity to do this. I’d like to give a special thanks to Jim Hasley for coordinating this event for First Tee participants. I hope I get another chance to do this at the 2012 John Deere Classic. I hope you all have learned a little piece about this PGA tournament in a city that I call home.

Actions

Information




